Weddell Duo review
The best-documented product in this category, and the only one in our registry that publishes when its testing was done. It is also silent on the thing a fifth of readers need.

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.
Weddell publishes NSF/ANSI 177 chlorine reduction (tested 2023-11-21), NSF/ANSI 53 PFAS reduction (2023-09-23) and NSF/ANSI 42 particulate reduction (2023-11-28), with 2.8 GPM and 8,000 gallons. WaterFilterGuru independently measured 100 percent chlorine reduction. It publishes nothing about chloramine.
Weddell Duo Shower Filter
Chlorine and disinfection byproducts
The only filter in this set whose maker publishes its NSF test dates and reduction ranges, and the one an independent lab measured at 100% chlorine removal. It also removed disinfection byproducts, which almost nothing else did.
Published specifications
- Filter media
- Dual cartridge: sediment filter plus activated carbonThe maker states "Material: Activated carbon" for the black cartridge and a sediment stage for the white one.Source: Weddell Water — Weddell Duo Shower Filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Stated flow rate
- 2.8 GPMSource: Weddell Water — Weddell Duo Shower Filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Rated cartridge life
- 8,000 gallons, or 5-6 monthsRated capacity 8,000 gallons; the maker also gives a 5-6 month calendar prompt.Source: Weddell Water — Weddell Duo Shower Filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Chloramine
- Not publishedWeddell publishes no chloramine figure. Absence of a claim is not evidence of failure, but it is also not evidence of performance.
- Format
- Inline, fits between the arm and any shower headTool-free; the maker states it fits fixed, rain and handheld heads.Source: Weddell Water — Weddell Duo Shower Filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Housing
- Not publishedWeddell does not state a housing material.
What it does well
- NSF/ANSI 177 chlorine reduction with the test date published
- Also carries NSF/ANSI 53 PFAS reduction and NSF/ANSI 42 particulate reduction
- Independently measured at 100% chlorine reduction and confirmed to remove disinfection byproducts
- 2.8 GPM rating is the highest published flow in this set
- Clear cartridges let you see the sediment stage loading up
Where it falls short
- Publishes nothing about chloramine
- Two cartridges to replace instead of one
- Inline format adds length between the arm and the head
What it does not do
- It does not soften water. An independent lab measured hardness at 125.59 PPM after filtration — effectively unchanged.
- It publishes no chloramine performance data of any kind.
- It is an inline unit, so it does not replace or improve your shower head.
Who it is for
Anyone on chlorinated municipal water who wants the strongest published evidence rather than the strongest published adjectives.
Skip it if
Your utility uses chloramine. Weddell publishes nothing about chloramine performance, and an activated carbon block sized for shower flow is not the thing to bet on for it — see the chloramine guide.
#ad · how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none
Certifications and claims
Two tables, deliberately. A certification names a standard and the body that issued it, and you can look it up. A claim is the maker describing itself. Both belong here; conflating them does not.
- NSF/ANSI 177
Issued or tested by: NSF/ANSI 177, test dated 2023-11-21 by the maker
Free available chlorine reduction, material safety, structural integrity, minimum flow rate
Source: Weddell Water — published performance data (retrieved 2026-09-01) - NSF/ANSI 53
Issued or tested by: Tested 2023-09-23, per the maker's published data
PFAS reduction, published as 99.05% minimum to 99.99% maximum
Source: Weddell Water — published performance data (retrieved 2026-09-01) - NSF/ANSI 42
Issued or tested by: Tested 2023-11-28, per the maker's published data
Particulate reduction
Source: Weddell Water — published performance data (retrieved 2026-09-01)
“Chlorine reduction of 87% minimum to 99% maximum under NSF/ANSI 177”
Source: Weddell Water — published performance data (retrieved 2026-09-01)An independent party published a matching measurement: WaterFilterGuru
Why publishing test dates matters
Almost nothing in this category tells you when its testing happened. A certification without a date could be from this year or from a decade ago on a formulation since changed. Weddell puts the date next to each standard, which lets a reader judge how current the data is — and, more usefully, lets a reader come back in three years and notice if it has not moved.
It also publishes reduction ranges rather than a single flattering figure: 87 percent minimum to 99 percent maximum for chlorine under NSF/ANSI 177, and 99.05 to 99.99 percent for PFAS under NSF/ANSI 53. Ranges are more honest than a headline number, because performance genuinely varies across a cartridge's life, and a maker publishing the low end has told you something about how it thinks.
The independent measurement
WaterFilterGuru measured the Duo on their own supply and reported chlorine going from 1.68 PPM to zero — 100 percent reduction, the highest in their set. They also reported that the Duo was one of only two filters in that whole test group to remove disinfection byproducts, which are more stable than free chlorine and correspondingly harder to strip.
That measurement is theirs, not ours; we own no lab and have tested nothing. We are citing it because it is the strongest independent data point in this category and because crediting it by name is what using someone else's work requires.
And the hardness result, in the same test
The same testing measured hardness at 125.59 PPM after filtration — effectively unchanged. That is not a criticism of the Duo. It is the category-wide finding: no shower filter tested reduced hardness, and Weddell makes no softening claim. It is worth stating on the review of the best-performing unit precisely because if any product were going to manage it, this is the one that would have.
The gap: chloramine
Weddell publishes no chloramine performance of any kind. Its media is a sediment stage plus activated carbon, and while catalytic carbon can decompose chloramine, standard carbon at shower contact time is not the tool for it — and Weddell does not state which it uses.
Absence of a claim is not evidence of failure, and it is not evidence of performance either. Roughly one in five US water systems uses chloramine, so this is a real gap for a real fraction of readers. Check your report before assuming the top-ranked product is the right one for you.
Who it is for
- You are on chlorinated municipal water and want the strongest published and measured evidence available.
- Your water report shows TTHM or HAA5 near their limits — this is one of only two units shown to address disinfection byproducts.
- You want to keep your existing shower head; this is an inline unit.
- You value a maker that publishes dates and ranges rather than a headline percentage.
Who should skip it
- You are on chloraminated water. No published data, and the media is not obviously suited to it — the chloramine options.
- Clearance is tight. An inline body adds length between the arm and the head.
- You want one cartridge to replace, not two.
- You want your water softened. It does not, and nothing does.
Questions people actually ask
+ Is the Weddell Duo NSF certified?
Weddell publishes test data against NSF/ANSI 177, 53 and 42, with a test date for each. That is more published detail than anything else in our registry.
+ Does the Weddell Duo remove PFAS?
Weddell publishes NSF/ANSI 53 PFAS reduction of 99.05 percent minimum to 99.99 percent maximum, tested 2023-09-23. That figure is the manufacturer's; we have not verified it independently.
+ Does the Weddell Duo soften water?
No. Independent testing measured hardness at 125.59 PPM after filtration, effectively unchanged, and Weddell makes no softening claim.
+ Does the Weddell Duo remove chloramine?
Weddell publishes nothing about chloramine. That is neither a pass nor a fail; it is an absence of data on a question that matters to about a fifth of US households.
+ How long does the Weddell Duo cartridge last?
Rated at 8,000 gallons, with a 5 to 6 month calendar prompt alongside it.
Sources
Everything on this page traces to one of these. Where a source is brand-owned we say so, because a filter maker explaining filter chemistry has an interest and you are entitled to weigh it.
- WaterFilterGuru, "The Best Shower Head Filter" — independent lab testing, credited to them (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Plumbing & Mechanical, "NSF/ANSI Standard 177: A Level Playing Field for Shower Filter Claims" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- NSF — NSF/ANSI 177 shower filter certification program
- US EPA — Consumer Confidence Reports (CCR) for drinking water