Replacement cartridges, by brand
The recurring purchase nobody writes about. Which cartridge fits what, which brands lock you in, and what a third-party equivalent actually costs you.

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.
Cartridges divide into shared families — Culligan's WHR-140 fits several units, Sprite's SLC fits the whole Slim-Line range — and proprietary singles, where the cartridge fits one product and nothing else. Check which you are buying into before the filter, not six months later.
The compatibility table
Compiled from the manufacturers' own published material and listings on 2026-09-01. Model numbers change; check yours before ordering.
Why the family matters more than the price
A cartridge shared across several units from a large manufacturer is stocked in ordinary hardware stores and by every online seller. A proprietary cartridge from a direct-to-consumer brand is available from one place, at one price, and if that company changes its product line or stops trading you own a housing with nothing to put in it.
Culligan's WHR-140 is the clearest case of the good version: one cartridge across the WSH-C125, ISH-100 and HSH-C135, from a company that has been in the water business for a very long time. Sprite's SLC covers its entire Slim-Line range. Those are supply chains you can rely on for years.
Third-party cartridges
The marketplace is full of compatible cartridges for the popular families, at a fraction of the branded price. Some are made by established filtration companies; some name no media at all. The honest position is that we cannot tell you which is which from a listing, and neither can you.
What we would check: does the listing name the media, or only claim compatibility? Does it state a capacity? Does the seller have a filtration product line, or is this one item among unrelated goods? A compatible-shaped cylinder with no stated media is a shape, not a filter — and since none of these carries a certification, the branded cartridge's only real advantage is that the manufacturer's own capacity figure applies to it.
Before you order
- Read the model number off your unit, not off the box you remember. Manufacturers revise product lines and the successor often takes a different cartridge.
- Check the US versus international variant. Philips in particular sells differently numbered models with different cartridges in different markets.
- Buy two. The commonest reason a cartridge does not get changed is that there is not one in the cupboard.
- Write the fitting date on the housing as you install it.
Quick picks
Ranked on what can be verified: a traceable certification first, then media matched to your disinfectant. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
Every figure in this table links to the page it came from in the write-ups below. Units we claim to have tested: 0.
Culligan WSH-C125
A certified replacement shower head
The cheapest way to get a genuine third-party certification on your wall. Culligan states plainly that the WSH-C125 is tested and certified by IAPMO R&T, which is more than most of this category can say.
Published specifications
- Filter media
- Not publishedCulligan states what the unit reduces, but not what media does the reducing.
- Stated flow rate
- 1.8 GPMSource: Culligan — WSH-C125 wall-mount filtered showerhead (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Rated cartridge life
- 10,000 gallons, or 6 monthsSource: Culligan — WSH-C125 wall-mount filtered showerhead (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Chloramine
- Not publishedCulligan publishes nothing about chloramine for this unit.
- Format
- Replacement wall-mount shower head with integrated filterSource: Culligan — WSH-C125 wall-mount filtered showerhead (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Housing
- Plastic, chrome finishSource: Culligan WSH-C125 — listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
What it does well
- Explicitly "tested and certified by IAPMO R&T", with the certifying body named
- Published cartridge life of 10,000 gallons or 6 months
- Five spray settings and a published 1.8 GPM rating
- The replacement cartridge is shared across several Culligan units, which keeps it easy to find
Where it falls short
- Culligan does not publish what is inside the cartridge
- No chloramine data
- Replaces the shower head rather than adding to it
What it does not do
- It does not soften water, and Culligan does not claim it does.
- It states nothing about chloramine.
- Culligan does not publish the filter media used in it.
Who it is for
Someone who wants a certified chlorine filter and is happy to replace the shower head itself rather than add an inline unit.
Skip it if
You like your current shower head. This replaces it, and its 1.8 GPM is a fixed part of the deal.
#ad · how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none
Sprite Slim-Line 2
Certified media, honestly benchmarked
Certified to NSF/ANSI 177 by IAPMO, and the most instructive product in this set: when WaterFilterGuru measured it independently they got 42% chlorine reduction — a reminder that the certification floor is 50% of a controlled challenge, not a promise about your shower.
Published specifications
- Filter media
- KDF media with calcium sulfite, branded "Chlorgon"Source: WaterFilterGuru, "Sprite Slim-Line 2 Shower Filter: A Data-Driven Review" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Stated flow rate
- 1.8 GPM claimed; 1.65 GPM measured independentlyThe measured figure is WaterFilterGuru's, not ours.Source: WaterFilterGuru, "Sprite Slim-Line 2 Shower Filter: A Data-Driven Review" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Rated cartridge life
- 10,000 gallons, or 6 monthsSource: WaterFilterGuru, "Sprite Slim-Line 2 Shower Filter: A Data-Driven Review" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Chloramine
- Not publishedNo chloramine performance is published for this unit.
- Format
- Inline, fits between the arm and any shower headSource: Sprite Slim-Line 2 — listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Housing
- PlasticDescribed in the independent review as feeling flimsier than most of the filters tested alongside it.Source: WaterFilterGuru, "Sprite Slim-Line 2 Shower Filter: A Data-Driven Review" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
What it does well
- NSF/ANSI 177 certification from IAPMO, per the independent review that checked it
- KDF plus calcium sulfite, a media pairing with a real mechanism behind it
- 10,000 gallon / 6 month cartridge
- Low-profile inline body, roughly an inch and a half tall
Where it falls short
- Independently measured at 42% chlorine reduction, well below the marketing
- Plastic housing described by that reviewer as flimsier than most
- Measured flow of 1.65 GPM against a claimed 1.8
What it does not do
- It does not soften water. Independent measurement found hardness effectively unchanged at 128.19 PPM going in.
- It publishes no chloramine performance.
- Its certification does not mean 100% chlorine removal in your shower.
Who it is for
A reader who wants the certification and the caveat together, and who values a low-profile inline unit that does not change their shower head.
Skip it if
You want the highest measured chlorine reduction available. On the one independent measurement we could find, this was not it.
#ad · how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none
Weddell Duo Shower Filter
Chlorine and disinfection byproducts
The only filter in this set whose maker publishes its NSF test dates and reduction ranges, and the one an independent lab measured at 100% chlorine removal. It also removed disinfection byproducts, which almost nothing else did.
Published specifications
- Filter media
- Dual cartridge: sediment filter plus activated carbonThe maker states "Material: Activated carbon" for the black cartridge and a sediment stage for the white one.Source: Weddell Water — Weddell Duo Shower Filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Stated flow rate
- 2.8 GPMSource: Weddell Water — Weddell Duo Shower Filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Rated cartridge life
- 8,000 gallons, or 5-6 monthsRated capacity 8,000 gallons; the maker also gives a 5-6 month calendar prompt.Source: Weddell Water — Weddell Duo Shower Filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Chloramine
- Not publishedWeddell publishes no chloramine figure. Absence of a claim is not evidence of failure, but it is also not evidence of performance.
- Format
- Inline, fits between the arm and any shower headTool-free; the maker states it fits fixed, rain and handheld heads.Source: Weddell Water — Weddell Duo Shower Filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Housing
- Not publishedWeddell does not state a housing material.
What it does well
- NSF/ANSI 177 chlorine reduction with the test date published
- Also carries NSF/ANSI 53 PFAS reduction and NSF/ANSI 42 particulate reduction
- Independently measured at 100% chlorine reduction and confirmed to remove disinfection byproducts
- 2.8 GPM rating is the highest published flow in this set
- Clear cartridges let you see the sediment stage loading up
Where it falls short
- Publishes nothing about chloramine
- Two cartridges to replace instead of one
- Inline format adds length between the arm and the head
What it does not do
- It does not soften water. An independent lab measured hardness at 125.59 PPM after filtration — effectively unchanged.
- It publishes no chloramine performance data of any kind.
- It is an inline unit, so it does not replace or improve your shower head.
Who it is for
Anyone on chlorinated municipal water who wants the strongest published evidence rather than the strongest published adjectives.
Skip it if
Your utility uses chloramine. Weddell publishes nothing about chloramine performance, and an activated carbon block sized for shower flow is not the thing to bet on for it — see the chloramine guide.
#ad · how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none
Philips AWP1775CH
Reading a certification claim correctly
Worth owning and worth studying. Its listing says "NSF-Certified KDF", which certifies the material inside the cartridge, not the finished device. That is a real certification of a real thing, and it is not the same as the filter being certified.
Published specifications
- Filter media
- Three-stage filtration with double mesh and NSF-certified KDF materialSource: Philips AWP1775CH/37 shower filter — listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Stated flow rate
- Not publishedNo flow rate is published on the US listing.
- Rated cartridge life
- Up to 50,000 L (about 13,208 gallons), replaced every 4-6 monthsPublished for the AWP1775 line; the figure is the manufacturer's, for the international model.Source: Philips AWP1775 in-line shower filter listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Chloramine
- Not publishedNot stated.
- Format
- Inline, fits handheld, rainfall or fixed headsSource: Philips AWP1775CH/37 shower filter — listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Housing
- Anti-scald material, chrome finishSource: Philips AWP1775CH/37 shower filter — listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
What it does well
- Three-stage filtration with double mesh and NSF-certified KDF material
- Large published capacity — the international version states up to 50,000 L, about 13,208 gallons
- Anti-scald housing rated for hot and cold
- Fits handheld, rainfall and fixed heads, tool-free
Where it falls short
- The certification applies to the media, not the device
- US listing publishes no flow rate
- Cartridge availability varies between the US and international model numbers
What it does not do
- It does not soften water.
- It is not stated to be a device certified to NSF/ANSI 177; the KDF material is what carries the NSF certification.
- It publishes no chloramine performance.
Who it is for
A reader who wants a large-capacity inline unit from a manufacturer with a plumbing division behind it.
Skip it if
You read "NSF-Certified" as meaning the unit passed NSF/ANSI 177. It does not say that.
#ad · how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none
AquaBliss SF100 Daily Revitalize
Chloramine, on the maker's own routing
The one product here whose maker states outright that it reduces chloramine as well as chlorine, and then backs that up by routing chloramine customers away from its own cheaper model. That is an unusually honest piece of product literature.
Published specifications
- Filter media
- Three stages: sand filter, stainless mesh and PP cotton; then calcium sulfite, redox media and activated carbon; then a PP cotton and mesh barrier. Cartridge infused with vitamin C, minerals and tourmaline.Source: AquaBliss — SF100 Daily Revitalize shower filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Stated flow rate
- Not publishedAquaBliss publishes no flow rate for the SF100.
- Rated cartridge life
- Every 3-6 monthsAquaBliss adds "sooner if you're in a high-chlorine or high-sediment area" and publishes no gallon rating.Source: AquaBliss — SF100 Daily Revitalize shower filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Chloramine
- Stated to reduce chloramine as well as chlorine and sedimentAquaBliss routes chloramine customers to this model rather than to its cheaper SF220, which is a claim it makes against its own interest.Source: AquaBliss — SF100 Daily Revitalize shower filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Format
- Inline, standard half-inch connection, five finishesSource: AquaBliss — SF100 Daily Revitalize shower filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Housing
- Not publishedFinish options are listed; the underlying material is not.
What it does well
- States chloramine reduction explicitly, which almost nothing else in this set does
- Full three-stage media list published, including calcium sulfite, redox media and activated carbon
- Vitamin C infusion in the cartridge, which is the media class that actually addresses chloramine
- Inline body fits fixed, rain and handheld heads on a standard half-inch connection
Where it falls short
- No published NSF/ANSI certification
- No published flow rate and no gallon capacity
- Cartridge cadence given only as a 3-6 month range
What it does not do
- It does not soften water; AquaBliss makes no softening claim for it.
- It carries no NSF/ANSI certification that AquaBliss publishes.
- It publishes no flow rate and no gallon capacity, so you cannot compute cost per gallon from its own data.
Who it is for
Readers whose water report says chloramine rather than free chlorine, and who want a stated media list at the low end of the price range.
Skip it if
You want a certification. AquaBliss publishes no NSF/ANSI certification for this unit, and a stated media list is not the same as a verified result.
#ad · how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none
And if you are not sure the cartridge is actually due, the cadence table covers what shortens it and why the reactive media gives you no warning at all.
Questions people actually ask
+ Which shower filter cartridge fits my Culligan?
The WHR-140 fits the WSH-C125, ISH-100 and HSH-C135 — one of the widest shared families in this category.
+ Are third-party shower filter cartridges any good?
Some are made by established filtration companies and some name no media at all. Check whether the listing states the media and a capacity, not just compatibility.
+ Can I use any cartridge in any shower filter?
No. Cartridges are specific to their housing, and several brands state explicitly that theirs is not cross-compatible.
+ Where can I buy shower filter replacement cartridges?
Shared families like Culligan's WHR-140 and Sprite's SLC are stocked in ordinary hardware retail. Proprietary cartridges from direct-to-consumer brands generally come from the brand itself.
+ How many cartridges will I need a year?
Two on a six-month cadence, four on a 90-day one. That is the recurring cost, and it is worth costing out before subscribing — the method.
Sources
Everything on this page traces to one of these. Where a source is brand-owned we say so, because a filter maker explaining filter chemistry has an interest and you are entitled to weigh it.
- WaterFilterGuru, "The Best Shower Head Filter" — independent lab testing, credited to them (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- WaterFilterGuru, "Sprite Slim-Line 2 Shower Filter: A Data-Driven Review" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Plumbing & Mechanical, "NSF/ANSI Standard 177: A Level Playing Field for Shower Filter Claims" (retrieved 2026-09-01)