Skip to content
The Filter Tap.
Compare / WaterChef vs Weddell

WaterChef SF-7C vs Weddell Duo

The only certified filter we cover with a chloramine mechanism, against the only one NSF lists itself. The decision turns on a claim neither of them actually makes.

By Scooter M.Published
Two chrome shower fittings side by side against a plain tiled wall

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

The short answer

Both are certified to NSF/ANSI 177. WaterChef is the only certified unit we cover built on catalytic carbon — the media class with a mechanism against chloramine — and publishes 96.6% chlorine reduction across the cartridge life. Weddell is the only one NSF lists itself, and was independently measured at 100% chlorine removal. Neither publishes a chloramine figure, which is the whole catch.

Quick picks

Ranked on what can be verified: a traceable certification first, then media matched to your disinfectant. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forCertificationPrice
1
WaterChef SF-7C
WaterChef SF-7CThe only unit in this registry that pairs a traceable NSF/ANSI 177 certification with catalytic carbon — the media class that has a mechanism against chloramine. WaterChef publishes a 96.6 percent chlorine figure and, notably, makes no chloramine claim at all despite using the media that could support one.Two-stage system built on "Advanced ThermalG…
Catalytic carbon with a certification attachedNSF/ANSI 177
2
Weddell Duo Shower Filter
Weddell Duo Shower FilterThe only filter in this set whose maker publishes its NSF test dates and reduction ranges, and the one an independent lab measured at 100% chlorine removal. It also removed disinfection byproducts, which almost nothing else did.Dual cartridge: sediment filter plus activat…
Chlorine and disinfection byproductsNSF/ANSI 177 +2

Every figure in this table links to the page it came from in the write-ups below. Units we claim to have tested: 0.

WaterChef SF-7C
Top pick

WaterChef SF-7C

Catalytic carbon with a certification attached

The only unit in this registry that pairs a traceable NSF/ANSI 177 certification with catalytic carbon — the media class that has a mechanism against chloramine. WaterChef publishes a 96.6 percent chlorine figure and, notably, makes no chloramine claim at all despite using the media that could support one.

Published specifications

Filter media
Two-stage system built on "Advanced ThermalGuard" catalytic carbonCatalytic carbon is the media class that chemically addresses chloramine as well as free chlorine — though WaterChef publishes no chloramine performance figure.Source: WaterChef — SF-7C shower filter system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated flow rate
2.5 GPM on the standard modelA separate SF-7C-ECO version is sold for states that require 1.8 GPM fixtures. The two are different SKUs, not a restrictor swap.Source: WaterChef — SF-7C shower filter system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Rated cartridge life
Up to 10,000 gallons, or about 6 monthsThe replacement part is the RCSF-7, sold singly and in a two-pack.Source: WaterChef — SF-7C shower filter system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Chloramine
Not publishedWaterChef publishes nothing about chloramine. Catalytic carbon is the media class with a real mechanism against it, which makes the silence notable rather than damning — but an absent claim is not evidence of performance, and NSF/ANSI 177 does not evaluate chloramine either.
Format
Shower system with an adjustable handheld wand, five spray settings and a stainless steel hoseSource: WaterChef SF-7C Shower Filter System with adjustable handheld wand (SF-7C-BN) — listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-10-30)
Housing
Not publishedWaterChef does not state a housing material.

What it does well

  • Certified to NSF/ANSI 177 by IAPMO R&T, with the certifying body named
  • Built on catalytic carbon rather than KDF — a media class with a broader mechanism
  • Published chlorine reduction of 96.6% across the rated cartridge life, not just when new
  • 10,000 gallons or six months on a named replacement cartridge, the RCSF-7
  • Makes no softening claim, which in this category is a mark of care

Where it falls short

  • No chloramine claim at all, despite using the media class that addresses it
  • No published housing material
  • The 2.5 GPM standard model is not compliant in states capping fixtures at 1.8 GPM — that is a separate SKU
  • Priced well above the cheapest certified option, which is an inline body

What it does not do

  • It does not claim to reduce chloramine. Catalytic carbon is the media class with the right mechanism, but WaterChef publishes no chloramine figure and NSF/ANSI 177 does not evaluate chloramine performance, so nothing here is verified for it.
  • It does not soften water, and WaterChef does not claim it does.
  • It does not publish a housing material.
  • The standard model is a 2.5 GPM system. Households in states that cap fixtures at 1.8 GPM need the separate SF-7C-ECO version instead.

Who it is for

Someone who wants a certification they can trace to a named body, on a media class that does more than KDF, and who wants a handheld wand as part of the deal.

Skip it if

You want a slim inline body or the cheapest certified option. This is a full shower system with a wand and a hose, and it is priced accordingly.

Weddell Duo Shower Filter
Pick 2

Weddell Duo Shower Filter

Chlorine and disinfection byproducts

The only filter in this set whose maker publishes its NSF test dates and reduction ranges, and the one an independent lab measured at 100% chlorine removal. It also removed disinfection byproducts, which almost nothing else did.

Published specifications

Filter media
Dual cartridge: sediment filter plus activated carbonThe maker states "Material: Activated carbon" for the black cartridge and a sediment stage for the white one.Source: Weddell Water — Weddell Duo Shower Filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Rated cartridge life
8,000 gallons, or 5-6 monthsRated capacity 8,000 gallons; the maker also gives a 5-6 month calendar prompt.Source: Weddell Water — Weddell Duo Shower Filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Chloramine
Not publishedWeddell publishes no chloramine figure. Absence of a claim is not evidence of failure, but it is also not evidence of performance.
Format
Inline, fits between the arm and any shower headTool-free; the maker states it fits fixed, rain and handheld heads.Source: Weddell Water — Weddell Duo Shower Filter (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Housing
Not publishedWeddell does not state a housing material.

What it does well

  • NSF/ANSI 177 chlorine reduction with the test date published
  • Also carries NSF/ANSI 53 PFAS reduction and NSF/ANSI 42 particulate reduction
  • Independently measured at 100% chlorine reduction and confirmed to remove disinfection byproducts
  • 2.8 GPM rating is the highest published flow in this set
  • Clear cartridges let you see the sediment stage loading up

Where it falls short

  • Publishes nothing about chloramine
  • Two cartridges to replace instead of one
  • Inline format adds length between the arm and the head

What it does not do

  • It does not soften water. An independent lab measured hardness at 125.59 PPM after filtration — effectively unchanged.
  • It publishes no chloramine performance data of any kind.
  • It is an inline unit, so it does not replace or improve your shower head.

Who it is for

Anyone on chlorinated municipal water who wants the strongest published evidence rather than the strongest published adjectives.

Skip it if

Your utility uses chloramine. Weddell publishes nothing about chloramine performance, and an activated carbon block sized for shower flow is not the thing to bet on for it — see the chloramine guide.

Side by side

WaterChef SF-7C vs Weddell Duo on published data
WaterChef SF-7CWeddell Duo
CertificationNSF/ANSI 177, by IAPMO R&TNSF/ANSI 177 — listed by NSF itself as WD-100, plus NSF/ANSI 53 and 42
Media publishedTwo-stage catalytic carbon, branded Advanced ThermalGuardSediment plus activated carbon, dual cartridge
Chlorine figure96.6%, maker-published across the rated life100%, independently measured; test dates published for all three standards
ChloramineNothing published — despite running the media class that addresses itNothing published
Flow rate2.5 GPM (SF-7C-ECO is a separate 1.8 GPM SKU)2.8 GPM — the highest figure we cover
Cartridge10,000 gallons or ~6 months, one cartridge (RCSF-7)8,000 gallons or 5-6 months, two cartridges
FormatShower system with a handheld wand and a 60-inch steel hoseInline — keeps the shower head you own
Beyond chlorineNothing publishedPFAS 99.05-99.99% (NSF/ANSI 53) and particulate (NSF/ANSI 42); disinfection byproducts also removed in testing

The 100 percent chlorine, disinfection byproduct and PFAS figures are WaterFilterGuru's measurement and Weddell's own published test data respectively, credited below. We tested neither product and own neither.

The media difference is the only reason to prefer the WaterChef

Four products we cover hold a device-level NSF/ANSI 177 certification. WaterChef is the only one of the four built on catalytic carbon. The other three run KDF, calcium sulfite, sediment or plain activated carbon in some combination.

That matters for exactly one reason. Catalytic carbon is one of only two media classes with a real mechanism against chloramine — the other being vitamin C — and about one in five US water systems disinfects with chloramine rather than free chlorine. On a chloraminated supply most of this category is the wrong tool however well it is built. Why chloramine is a different problem, and what catalytic carbon actually does.

Weddell publishes more, and more of it is checkable

On evidence depth this is not close. Weddell publishes test dates alongside its figures — NSF/ANSI 177 dated 2023-11-21, NSF/ANSI 53 for PFAS dated 2023-09-23, NSF/ANSI 42 for particulate dated 2023-11-28 — which almost nothing in this category does. It is also the one product in our registry that appears in NSF's own public listing database, as model WD-100.

Then there is the independent result: WaterFilterGuru measured 100 percent chlorine removal and recorded that it also removed disinfection byproducts, which most of the category did not. WaterChef's 96.6 percent is a credible number and it is the maker's own, measured across the rated cartridge life rather than when new — a better construction than a headline percentage, and still not the same thing as a disinterested party checking it.

Weddell also reaches past chlorine in a way nothing else here does: NSF/ANSI 53 for PFAS at 99.05 to 99.99 percent, and NSF/ANSI 42 for particulate. If your concern list is longer than chlorine, that is the only product we cover with certifications addressing it. The full certified set.

Format and flow decide this for most people

These are not the same kind of object, and for a lot of readers that settles it before the chemistry does.

  • The WaterChef is a complete shower system — a handheld wand on a 60-inch stainless hose, with the filter housing in line. You are replacing your fixture and inheriting its spray settings, and it is the more expensive of the two.
  • The Weddell is an inline body. It threads onto the shower arm and your existing head threads onto the other end, so your spray pattern and spray force are untouched. It adds length between arm and head, which in a low shower is worth measuring first.

The flow figures follow from that. The Weddell publishes 2.8 GPM — the highest in everything we cover, and legal because an inline body is not a shower head and so is not bound by the federal 2.5 GPM fixture cap. The WaterChef publishes 2.5 GPM, right at that cap, and households in states that cap fixtures at 1.8 GPM need the separate SF-7C-ECO part number rather than this one. The whole flow-rate question.

What twelve months of each costs

The WaterChef costs more to buy and less to run: one 10,000-gallon cartridge against Weddell's pair of 8,000-gallon ones. Weddell's two-cartridge design is also the reason its clear housing shows you the sediment stage loading up, which is the only visible signal a cartridge gives you.

Twelve-month cost, WaterChef SF-7C against Weddell Duo

Purchase price + (cartridges per year x cartridge price). Cadence comes from published specifications; the money comes from the live price layer or is left blank.

ProductPublished cadenceCartridges / yrLive price12-month cost
WaterChef SF-7CUp to 10,000 gallons, or about 6 months2$109.95from $109.95 in year one, plus 2 cartridges
Weddell Duo Shower Filter8,000 gallons, or 5-6 months2.2$89.98from $89.98 in year one, plus 2.2 cartridges

Prices as of November 2, 2026, from the live retailer feed. Cartridge prices are not included in the year-one figure above because they are a separate purchase with a separate live price. The full method.

The certification record for these two, side by side

2 of 2 carry a certification we could trace to a certifying body.

ProductStandardCertifying bodyScope, and source
WaterChef SF-7CWaterChefNSF/ANSI 177IAPMO R&TFree available chlorine reduction, material safety, structural integrity, minimum flow rateSource: WaterChef — "IAPMO Research & Testing", NSF/ANSI Standard 177 for chlorine reduction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Weddell Duo Shower FilterWeddell WaterNSF/ANSI 177NSF/ANSI 177, test dated 2023-11-21 by the makerFree available chlorine reduction, material safety, structural integrity, minimum flow rateSource: Weddell Water — published performance data (retrieved 2026-09-01)
NSF/ANSI 53Tested 2023-09-23, per the maker's published dataPFAS reduction, published as 99.05% minimum to 99.99% maximumSource: Weddell Water — published performance data (retrieved 2026-09-01)
NSF/ANSI 42Tested 2023-11-28, per the maker's published dataParticulate reductionSource: Weddell Water — published performance data (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What the makers claim about themselves

These are manufacturer statements, reported as manufacturer statements. A claim is not a certification, and separating the two is the whole point of this section.

ProductThe maker’s own wording
WaterChef SF-7C
Weddell Duo Shower Filter

Certification listings and manufacturer wording checked on 2026-09-01. What NSF/ANSI 177 actually covers.

Which to buy

  • You are on chloraminated water and want a certification → the [WaterChef SF-7C](/reviews/waterchef-sf-7c), with your eyes open. It is the only certified unit we cover whose media has a mechanism against chloramine, and it publishes nothing about chloramine performance. That is the best available option rather than a verified one. Honest cons: no chloramine figure, no published housing material, the 2.5 GPM model is not compliant where fixtures are capped at 1.8, and it is the pricier of the two.
  • You are on chlorinated municipal water → the [Weddell Duo](/reviews/weddell-duo). The strongest published evidence in the category, NSF's own listing, PFAS and particulate certifications on top of the shower standard, and it keeps the shower head you already own. Honest cons: it publishes nothing about chloramine either, it is two cartridges rather than one, and the inline body adds length.
  • Your concern list is longer than chlorine → the Weddell, and it is not close. It is the only product we cover with a PFAS certification.
  • You want the cheapest traceable certification → neither. The Sprite Slim-Line 2 holds an IAPMO mark at a fraction of both prices, and the Culligan HSH-C135 is the certified option if you want a complete head instead.

Questions people actually ask

+ Is the WaterChef SF-7C or the Weddell Duo better for chloramine?

The WaterChef is built on catalytic carbon, which is one of only two media classes with a mechanism against chloramine, so it is the better bet on mechanism. But neither product publishes a chloramine figure, and NSF/ANSI 177 does not test chloramine performance, so neither is verified for it. Treat the WaterChef as the best available option rather than a proven one.

+ Which one removes more chlorine?

Weddell, on the stronger evidence: independently measured at 100 percent, with the maker's own test dates published. WaterChef publishes 96.6 percent measured across the rated cartridge life, which is a better construction than a when-new figure but is still the maker's own number with no independent check.

+ Are both NSF certified?

Both hold a device-level NSF/ANSI 177 certification, from different bodies. Weddell appears in NSF's own public shower filter listing as model WD-100. WaterChef's mark comes from IAPMO R&T, which certifies to the same standard but publishes a separate directory — so WaterChef will not appear in an NSF search, and that is expected rather than a gap.

+ Does either remove PFAS?

Weddell publishes an NSF/ANSI 53 certification for PFAS reduction at 99.05 to 99.99 percent, dated 2023-09-23. It is the only product we cover with a PFAS certification. WaterChef publishes nothing on PFAS.

+ Do I have to replace my shower head for either?

For the WaterChef, yes — it is a complete system with its own handheld wand and hose. For the Weddell, no: it is an inline body that fits between the shower arm and the head you already own, so your spray pattern is unchanged.

+ Will either soften hard water?

No. Independent testing measured hardness after the Weddell at 125.59 PPM, effectively unchanged, and WaterChef makes no softening claim. Removing hardness needs ion exchange across a resin bed, which nothing that fits on a shower arm performs.

Sources

Everything on this page traces to one of these. Where a source is brand-owned we say so, because a filter maker explaining filter chemistry has an interest and you are entitled to weigh it.